Commencement and Awards

Congratulations to the following individuals:

  • Gwendolyn Bresnan - Dean's Award for outstanding scholarship and contributions to the university community
  • Sam Kahl - Wilkinson Memorial Award for the highest cumulative GPA in her four-year career at NIU
  • Frankline Muthomi - Maryanov Award for intellectual capacity, commitment and character, qualities embodied by the late Professor Gerald S. Maryanov
  • Nathan McCormick - Outstanding Graduate Instructor Award for effectiveness and excellence in undergraduate teaching
  • Aidan Bengford and Grant Goral - John G. and Barbara C. Peters Scholarship for Outstanding Public Service, given for outstanding contributions to public service through public service related internship, political campaign, government or student government
  • Titik Firawati and Carolina Velandia Hernandez - Martin David Dubin Memorial Scholarship, given to a graduate student who is in the process of writing his or her dissertation.
  • Limeng Ong - Dr. Russell W. Smith Memorial Scholarship for travel to Southeast Asia to complete field work as part of a faculty approved research project.
  • Alexandra Alcantar and Aidan Bengford - Richard J. Doherty and Jon F. Erickson Chicago Law Internship Scholarship, is to provide financial assistance to a Northern Illinois University student who will participate in a summer internship with the Chicago Bar Foundation, the Richard J. Daley Center Pro Bono Resource Center, and the Office of the Chief Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County

Graduation Ceremony

Recent Graduates


  • Cassandra Epping
  • Tammie Louise Finnegan
  • Nick Florian


  • Frankline Muthomi