Learn more about tuition, apply for fellowships and scholarships and browse the M.P.A. and Ph.D. handbooks.

Tuition and Fees

  • Tuition and fees for comparative public service, fiscal administration, local government management, non-profit management and strategic public management leadership.
  • Tuition and fees for public service law

Scholarships and Fellowships

This competitive monetary fellowship is awarded to an NIU MPA student who has exhibited exceptional potential for a successful career in local government management. Endowed in 2000 by David and Catherine Arnold, the fellowship honors Professor Emeritus James M. Banovetz for his leadership in developing the NIU graduate program in public administration as one of the premier programs in the United States. In 2006, Audrey M. Banovetz’s name was added to honor Audrey for her many years of supporting the program, its faculty and students.


This competitive monetary fellowship is awarded to support minority MPA student attendance at conferences focused on the professionalization of minority public administrators, including the National Forum of Black Public Administrators and the National Hispanic Network. This fellowship honors David and Catherine Arnold. David Arnold was a member of the ICMA staff for nearly 40 years and edited ICMA’s highly valued Municipal Yearbook series. The Arnold Fellows are expected to build professional networks among their peers as they become the next generation of public administrators. This fellowship is open to both precareer and midcareer minority students.


This award recognizes an outstanding applicant to the MPA program who also shows promise of excellence in public service. The basis for the award includes the applicant’s admission essay, undergraduate GPA and transcript(s). Morris Scholars must maintain a GPA of 3.7 in order to continue receiving the scholarship in their second year and maintain full time status. The recipient receives a certificate at graduation honoring their status as a Morris Scholar.

The faculty confers our highest student award to honor President Emeritus William R. Monat. The Monat Scholar exemplifies excellence in scholarship and public service, and meets faculty expectations for great public service in future years. The award includes a $1,000 gift from the Monat Scholar Fund. The Monat Scholar is automatically nominated by the faculty for the NIU Graduate School’s Outstanding Scholar Award.

The faculty confers this scholarship to recognize a graduating MPA student who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship in the study of public and nonprofit administration and public policy. The award includes a $1,000 gift from the Wit Scholar Fund. The Wit Scholar is automatically nominated by the faculty for the Outstanding Student Award of the Chicago Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration.

Writing Style

Writing styles used in academic writing in the public administration field and adopted by the department.

M.P.A. Student Background

Some of the colleges from which our current and recent students graduated:

  • Alabama A&M University
  • Arizona State University
  • Augustana College (IL)
  • Aurora University (IL)
  • Benedictine University
  • Bradley University
  • California State University
  • Carroll College
  • Canisius College (NY)
  • Carthage College
  • Columbia College (IL)
  • Concordia University
  • Drake University (IA)
  • DePaul University
  • Eastern Illinois University
  • Elmhurst College (IL)
  • Florida A & M University
  • Framingham State University
  • Governors State University (IL)
  • Greenville College
  • Holy Angel University
  • Illinois College
  • Illinois State University
  • Indiana University
  • Iowa State University
  • Jackson State University
  • Knox College
  • Lake Forest College
  • Lewis University (IL)
  • Liberty University (VA)
  • Loyola University
  • Marquette University (WI)
  • Millersville University
  • Morris Brown College
  • Mount St. Clare College
  • North Central College
  • Northeastern Illinois University
  • Northern Illinois University
  • Northwest Missouri State University
  • Ohio University
  • Oklahoma State University
  • Prairie View A&M University (TX)
  • Purdue University
  • Regents College (University of the State of New York)
  • Rockford University (IL)
  • Roosevelt University
  • St. Ambrose University (IA)
  • St. Cloud State University
  • Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
  • St. Olaf College
  • Saint Xavier University
  • Southern Illinois University
  • Southern Methodist University
  • Stanford University
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Dayton
  • University of Denver
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Kansas
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Nebraska
  • University of Notre Dame
  • University of South Dakota
  • University of Wisconsin - Madison
  • University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
  • University of Wisconsin - Whitewater
  • U.S. Military Academy (West Point)
  • Utah State University
  • Virginia Wesleyan University
  • Washburn University
  • Weber State University
  • West Virginia University
  • Western Illinois University
  • Winona State University

  • Accounting
  • Agribusiness Education
  • Agriculture
  • American Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Biology
  • Business Administration
  • Computer Information Systems Management
  • Civil Engineering
  • Communication
  • Community and Regional Planning
  • Criminal Justice
  • Criminology
  • Deafness Rehabilitation
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Environmental Studies
  • Finance
  • Fire Science Management
  • Human and Family Services
  • Human Relations
  • Human Services
  • General Studies
  • Geography
  • History
  • Justice Studies
  • Law Enforcement Administration
  • Liberal Arts-pre-Law
  • Management
  • Merchandising
  • Nursing
  • Political Science
  • Public Administration
  • Public Management-Government
  • Psychology
  • Public Administration and Mass Communication
  • Public Policy and Administration
  • Recreation and Park Administration
  • Social Sciences
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Urban Studies
  • Urban and Regional Planning

Contact Us

Department of Public Administration
IASBO Building (2nd Floor)
View map

Office Hours

8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Lunch break: noon-1 p.m.